Advertise Here
If you have a statement to make, you can do it in our Forum
Membership Info
Minimize
Membership Members
Latest New User Latest: jackienishi
New Today New Today: 0
New Yesterday New Yesterday: 0
User Count Overall: 158

Users Online Users Online
Visitors Visitors: 20
Members Members: 0
Total Total: 20


Users Online
Minimize
   Members Where are they
    Visitor:[1] Home
    Visitor:[1] Photos
    Visitor:[19] Forum


Announcement
Minimize

You must be registered and logged in to post a message on this forum. Please note that all posts with authors listed as  "anonymous"  were migrated from the old website forum.



Monthly Top Users
Minimize
UserPosts
Lori 6
davidwilpon 5
Joe Mig 3
jackienishi 1
JohnnyD 1
Eileen 1
NickB 1
Bill Barnett 1
Roy Lowey 1
Total Active Users:9


Howard Beach Forum
 
  Howard Beach Forum  Discussions  General  Threatening Junk E-mail
Previous Previous
 
Next Next
New Post 1/29/2008 7:47 AM
Resolved
User is offline JohnnyD
15 posts
8th Level Poster


Threatening Junk E-mail 

Received several copies of the below message this morning addressed to the E-mail account I have listed as part of my HB id.  Has any one else been harrased by the type of junk?

BE MORE CAREFUL‏
From: william white (williamwhite_west2007@yahoo.com)
  Medium riskYou may not know this sender.Mark as safe|Mark as unsafe
Sent: Mon 1/28/08 4:54 PM
To: JohnnyD1220@hotmail.com

 
Hello John DiNardo
 
I  am very sorry for you Xxxxxx, is a pity that this is how your life is going to end as soon as you don't comply. As you can see there is no need of introducing myself to you because I don't have any business with you, my duty as I am mailing you now is just to KILL you and I have to do it as I have already been paid for that.
Someone you call a friend wants you Dead by all means, and the person have spent a lot of money on this, the person also came to us and told me that he wanted you dead and he provided us with your name ,picture and other necessary information's we needed about you. So I sent my boys to track you down and they have carried out the necessary investigation needed for the operation on you, and they have done that but I told them not to kill you that I will like to contact you and see if your life is Important to you or not since their findings shows that you are innocent.
I called my client back and ask him of your email address which I didn't tell him what I wanted to do with it and he gave it to me and I am using it to contact you now. As I am writing to you now my men are monitoring you and they are telling me everything about you.
Now do you want to LIVE OR DIE? As someone has paid us to kill you. Get back to me now if you are ready to pay some fees to spare your life, $15,000 is all you need to spend You will first of all pay $8,000 then I will send a tape to you which i recoeded every discusion i hade with the person who wanted you dead and as soon as you get the tape, you will pay the remaining $7,000. If you are not ready for my help, then I will carry on with my job straight-up.
WARNING: DO NOT THINK OF CONTACTING THE POLICE OR EVEN TELLING ANYONE BECAUSE I WILL KNOW.REMEMBER, SOMEONE WHO KNOWS YOU VERY WELL WANT YOU DEAD! I WILL EXTEND IT TO YOUR FAMILY, INCASE I NOTICE SOMETHING FUNNY.
DO NOT COME OUT ONCE IT IS 7:PM UNTIL I MAKE OUT TIME TO SEE YOU AND GIVE YOU THE TAPE OF MY DISCUSSION WITH THE PERSON WHO WANT YOU DEAD THEN YOU CAN USE IT TO TAKE ANY LEGAL ACTION. GOOD LUCK AS I AWAIT YOUR REPLY
 
New Post 2/2/2008 7:02 AM
User is offline JohnnyD
15 posts
8th Level Poster


Re: Threatening Junk E-mail 

Certain items in the junk mail I received point to a vendor's web site as being the culprit.  Webmaster, please feel free to delete this message thread.  Thanks.

 
New Post 2/3/2008 11:59 AM
User is offline Katleen Vogel
5 posts
9th Level Poster


Re: Threatening Junk E-mail 

I have also received that same email twice.  Had it checked out and it is spam that is coming for other countries. Most come fromother countries. It also came form this web site because it is the only one with both my married and maiden name.  Once from that WilliamWhite_west@yahoo  person and once from rip309life@yahoo  mIne were also titled Be Careful.  It is spam and there is nothing that can be done about it.  I know in Florida you can threaten someone life and it is called freedom of speech.  So I guess we just have to deal with it. Unless someone can find a way to keep these people off our web site.

 
New Post 2/4/2008 1:05 PM
User is offline JohnnyD
15 posts
8th Level Poster


Re: Threatening Junk E-mail 

My original thought that some one may be scanning the HB web site was also based on the fact that the E-mail's (same title, some from William White and some from James Laugh Laugh, but same E-mail id's you mentioned) contained my whole name and correctly spelled, i.e the N in DiNardo was capitalized.  However, after looking more closely I realized that I had not specified my name in my profile on the new site.  Additionally the next day, the same messages from the same multiple id's began to show up in another Hotmail account that is linked to the one I use here.   Since this message thread has been viewed 106 times, I would assume that other HB members must have seen it and if the messages originated from this web site, I would have expected more responses, so am now inclined to write it off as random spam.  I once received spam at my Hotmail account that had been sent from my AOL account which I hardly use and never to send spam to myself.  As Kathleen stated, we will just have to deal with it, the web site is worth it.

 
New Post 2/8/2008 12:21 PM
User is offline Phil
1 posts
10th Level Poster


Re: Threatening Junk E-mail 

 John,

       I also received the same message.  It came in twice (exactly the same  e mails).  I usually do not open anything I don't recognize.  However, this one had William White on it who lived in HB and I have spoken to.  He is now living in the Spring Hill area of Fl.  I must admit it was scary to see they had the exact spelling of my surname.   Well, I'm glad that it was only spam.

                                                                                                                                                                    Regards,

                                                                                                                                                                     Phil Orapallo

 
New Post 2/9/2008 6:45 AM
User is offline JohnnyD
15 posts
8th Level Poster


Re: Threatening Junk E-mail 

Phil,

       Think it's getting futile to try and trace the source of spam, the day before I received these (some from William White, who I also thought was from HB, but realized that's Richie White and some from James Laugh Laugh), I'd left enquiries on the question boards at GIGABYTE, ANTEC & NEWEGG web sites and the previous week had gotten inadvertently signed up for some web site when a friend of mine opened an E-mail and her mail list got spammed.  Think we have to just live with it for now.

 
Previous Previous
 
Next Next
  Howard Beach Forum  Discussions  General  Threatening Junk E-mail
Panzarella Half Banner
Carosello Half Banner
 Home  |  About  |  History  |  Photos  |  Cross Bay  |  Forum  |  Guest Book  |  Chat  |  Events  |  Virtual Tour  |  Advertise  

Copyright 2008 © HowardBeach.com
Privacy Statement  |  Terms Of Use